Dr. R Mukhopadhyay, Director (R&D), JK Tyre; Director & CE of Hari Shankar Singhania Elastomer & Tyre Research Institute (HASETRI), Mysore, and Chairman of Indian Rubber Institute received the coveted “Distinguished Alumnus Award 2020” during the 66th Convocation of Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur.

The honor is in recognition of Dr. Mukhopadhyay’s professional achievements, determination, and contribution as an alumnus of IIT.

The award was presented by Prof. Virendra Kumar Tiwari, Director of IIT Kharagpur at a glittering ceremony during the institute’s convocation day in Kharagpur, West Bengal.

The event was addressed by the Hon’ble Prime Minister of India, Shri. Narendra Modi as a Chief Guest and witnessed the presence of eminent academicians, scientists, industry experts, technocrats and social activists, etc.

Receiving the award, Dr. R Mukhopadhyay, Director (R&D), JK Tyre, said, “I am honored to be facilitated by the esteem Distinguished Alumnus Award this year. It is a matter of pride for me to be standing alongside the well-regarded alumni awardees with outstanding achievements in separate spheres bringing back fond memories of my stint here. These eminent awards not just honor the alumni for their contributions but encourage the Young Turks to continue the legacy of the institute as brand ambassadors and become the harbinger of change. I would also like to dedicate this award to the entire team who has worked with me for the upliftment of rubber science and tyre technology. I am grateful to The Board of Governors of IIT Kharagpur, Prof. Debabrata Sen, former HOD Applied Chemistry; Prof. Sadhan K De, my research guide and Dr. RP Singhania, CMD, JK Tyre & Industries Ltd for his continuous encouragement & guidance”.

After completing his graduation from the University of Calcutta and MSc – Ph.D. from IIT Kharagpur, Dr. R Mukhopadhyay started his career as a faculty member in applied chemistry at IIT Kharagpur. With close to 5 decades of experience in education, training, and research, he has been contributing expertise towards rubber science and tyre technology.

Designed to appreciate outstanding achievements, leadership skills, contribution to society, and peer recognition of the alumni, these much-coveted awards are conducted annually at the Institute’s convocation ceremony.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

AlphaOmega Captcha Medica  –  What Do You See?


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *